Let’s talk about fictional death

fictional deathWe bookworms like to become emotionally invested — probably way too much for our own good — in the lives of our beloved fictional characters. No, of course it’s not a wrong thing either but things turn really ugly when you discover that your favorite character is killed off. Or die of some kind of disease. Just how sadistic an author can be? I’m pretty sure we all have those fictional deaths we will NEVER recover from. Especially if it’s a favorite character and your heart just break to pieces each time you remind yourself that they will never get their fictional happy endings. Continue reading Let’s talk about fictional death

2015 favorites & new discoveries: it’s time to choose!

Looking back on 2015, I think I did pretty well for someone who is trying to find a balance between real life and hobbies. While I realized that I had disappeared from the blogosphere multiple times (same old story HAH!) I did make some amazing new discoveries this year!

Bookish stuff

best reads 2015I only read 31 books this year. I know it’s such a small number to your 100s but hey, at least I met my Goodreads challenge despite my busy school life. Below are my favorite books in no particular order. Continue reading 2015 favorites & new discoveries: it’s time to choose!

Contemporary has been failing me recently: Mini Reviews

In the very limited amount of free time I had, I tried to read a bit and in the span of two weeks, I managed to get four books down. A few more to go!

It’s no question why I picked contemporary. I’m usually already worn out from school so I would definitely want to read something which is easy to get into or relate to. And what’s better genre than contemporary?

Unfortunately, most of my recent reads were a miss.

The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen

the revenge playbook>> Goodreads

I was expecting a group girls trying to get revenge through sports competition but what did I get? Do not be fooled guys. The synopsis may say “beat at their own game” but the whole book is actually about a scavenger hunt and no, this isn’t a spoiler. Throughout the book, I didn’t feel any sort of connection with the characters but if I had to choose, I like Liv’s character’s best because honestly, hers stuck to my mind and still do until now. I read this book weeks ago and I have already forgotten most of the plot… So yeah, a huge disappointment since everyone has been recommending this. But overall, I appreciate that this book is about justice and equality. I could feel the whole “girl power” vibe.

Rating: 3 stars Continue reading Contemporary has been failing me recently: Mini Reviews

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

the wrong side of rightThe Wrong Side of Right
Author: Jenn Marie Thorne
Publication: March 17th, 2015 by Dial
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

First of all, can we just take a moment to appreciate that cover? I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. Very simple and artistic <33 Anyway, I really had no expectations when I started this book and I’m glad I did because The Wrong Side of Right turned out to be a pleasant surprise!

Even though politics is a very dark world and not all politicians are good, I’m quite fascinated by it, especially since last year was an election year for Indonesia. I’m somewhat familiar with the campaign — the debates, the interviews and commercials on TV and the analysis on newspaper. But what I do not know is the inside. The Wrong Side of Right provides an insight on how a campaign is run, including the dirty details. Everything is arranged, starting from your outfit to how you should answer questions. Campaign team members have to be swift to counter scandals and negative responses thrown by the mass or opposing candidate, spinning stories from available sources, steering away from the negative aspects and highlighting the positive qualities. It’s eerily similar to the entertainment business, if not more orderly and orchestrated.

Continue reading The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

let the sky fallLet the Sky Fall
(Let the Sky Fall #1)
Author: Shannon Messenger
Publication: December 3rd, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division
Genre: YA Paranormal
Goodreads

Vane Weston should have died in the category-five tornado that killed his parents. Instead, he woke up in a pile of rubble with no memories of his past – except one: a beautiful, dark-haired girl standing in the winds. She swept through his dreams ever since, and he clings to the hope that she’s real.

Audra is real, but she isn’t human. She’s a sylph, an air elemental who can walk on the wind, translate its alluring songs, even twist it into a weapon. She’s also a guardian – Vane’s guardian – and has sworn an oath to protect him at all costs.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both their families, Audra has just days to help Vane unlock his memories. And as the storm winds gather, Audra and Vane start to realize that the greatest danger might not be the warriors coming to destroy them, but the forbidden romance growing between them.

First time reading it, Let the Sky Fall was pretty entertaining, but not long after that the sparks were gone and I unintentionally neglected this book. This holiday, I decided to pick it up again and see if my reading slump was the one which caused me to DNF it.

Unfortunately, I’m still not impressed.

Continue reading Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger