P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

P.S. I Like You
Author: Kasie West
Publication: July 26th 2016 by Point
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads

 

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Such a cute book! As expected from our queen of contemporary, Kasie West. Her books have always been the ones I turn to every time I need a break from busy life or heavy reads. And P.S. I Like You provided me with such entertainment — I couldn’t stop reading.

Lily is your typical awkward girl who had difficulties talking to boys and isn’t very popular at school to begin with. Sounds like your typical contemporary, no? But the amazing thing about Kasie West is despite the common tropes she uses in her stories, her writing seems to make everything work like magic. Lily has a big family, one whose portrayal just screams warmth and if I had to quote from the book, “like how real families supposed to be”. I love reading her dynamic with each family members. How Ashley is not the typical annoying big sister — yes, there are moments where she can’t help but to tease Lily, but she’s very supportive in her own way. Wyatt and Jonah are two adorable Things. Reading about the interaction of Lily’s family just put a warm feeling inside my chest.

In addition, I also loved Lily’s relationship with her best friend Isabel. Even though there was unnecessary drama in the middle of the book, I was glad that the misunderstandings were sorted out quickly. But I guess that’s just how friends are like? We have ups and downs, sometimes small disagreements and sometimes big fights. But in the end, best friends just find their way to each other again, right?

“Someone else knows who they are.”
“Well, I would hope for the band’s sake that you’re not their only fan.”

I had no complaint about the romance — there’s nothing insta-love about it. I enjoyed reading how Lily’s relationship with the love interest play out. Though the plot was a bit predictable (or perhaps have I read too many books? I have my experience I guess haha) but that didn’t diminish my enjoyment for the book. The only thing that prevented me from rating this book higher was the fact that I found this book to be a little to tame for my taste. It could have explored so much more, mainly about Lily’s character development. But perhaps I set my standards too high and this book only gave me half of its potential.

Kasie West proves that she has got what it needs to write awesome contemporaries. I mean, cakes are common, but she always seems to know the right recipe to a delicious icing. Filled with humor and sarcastic banters, P.S. I Like You was definitely a quick read that leaves people wanting more.

 

Contemporary has been failing me recently: Mini Reviews

In the very limited amount of free time I had, I tried to read a bit and in the span of two weeks, I managed to get four books down. A few more to go!

It’s no question why I picked contemporary. I’m usually already worn out from school so I would definitely want to read something which is easy to get into or relate to. And what’s better genre than contemporary?

Unfortunately, most of my recent reads were a miss.

The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen

the revenge playbook>> Goodreads

I was expecting a group girls trying to get revenge through sports competition but what did I get? Do not be fooled guys. The synopsis may say “beat at their own game” but the whole book is actually about a scavenger hunt and no, this isn’t a spoiler. Throughout the book, I didn’t feel any sort of connection with the characters but if I had to choose, I like Liv’s character’s best because honestly, hers stuck to my mind and still do until now. I read this book weeks ago and I have already forgotten most of the plot… So yeah, a huge disappointment since everyone has been recommending this. But overall, I appreciate that this book is about justice and equality. I could feel the whole “girl power” vibe.

Rating: 3 stars Continue reading Contemporary has been failing me recently: Mini Reviews

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

the wrong side of rightThe Wrong Side of Right
Author: Jenn Marie Thorne
Publication: March 17th, 2015 by Dial
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

First of all, can we just take a moment to appreciate that cover? I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. Very simple and artistic <33 Anyway, I really had no expectations when I started this book and I’m glad I did because The Wrong Side of Right turned out to be a pleasant surprise!

Even though politics is a very dark world and not all politicians are good, I’m quite fascinated by it, especially since last year was an election year for Indonesia. I’m somewhat familiar with the campaign — the debates, the interviews and commercials on TV and the analysis on newspaper. But what I do not know is the inside. The Wrong Side of Right provides an insight on how a campaign is run, including the dirty details. Everything is arranged, starting from your outfit to how you should answer questions. Campaign team members have to be swift to counter scandals and negative responses thrown by the mass or opposing candidate, spinning stories from available sources, steering away from the negative aspects and highlighting the positive qualities. It’s eerily similar to the entertainment business, if not more orderly and orchestrated.

Continue reading The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

the start of me and youThe Start of Me and You
Author: Emery Lord
Publication: March 31st, 2015 by Bloomsbury
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamicsThe Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

GOSH. Emery Lord writes THE BEST self-discovery books and more importantly, friendships and the process of moving on. I don’t know anymore. I think this book made me so emotional – like, the most emotional I’ve ever been in terms of reading this year that it instantly deserves 5 stars.

“Knowing what happens is different from knowing how it happens. And getting there is the best part.”

Continue reading The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Open-Road-SummerOpen Road Summer
Author: Emery Lord
Publication: April 15th, 2014 by Walker Childrens
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence.

This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking.

A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

I’m actually very conflicted about the rating. On one hand, Open Road Summer was an extremely relatable read that sometimes I drew parallels between me and the main character. It deserves more than 3.5 stars. But on the other hand, my gut also tells me that it isn’t quite right to rate it 4 stars.

“I’ve taken so many side roads and built so many walls that I created my own labyrinth, trapping myself inside.”

Continue reading Open Road Summer by Emery Lord